University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Submitted by cberling on Wed, 05/04/2011 - 1:59pm

February 2013

  • Piers and Berlinguette groups move into the award-winning EEEL building!

  • Congratulations to Dr. Derek Wasylenko (currently a PDF in the Mayer Group at UWashington; PhD graduate of Berlinguette group) for being honored with the American Chemical Society's 2013 Young Investigator Award.

December 2012

  • Congratulations to Dr. Kiyoshi Robson (Berlinguette group) on successfully completing his Ph.D.!
  • Kiyoshi Robson (Berlinguette group) is awarded the Prestigious 2013 CSC Inorganic Division Award for Graduate Work in Inorganic Chemistry! Congratulations!
  • Thomas Baumgartner has received a prestigious Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The prize recognizes exemplary records of research by world-class scientists and scholars from abroad who completed their doctorate less than 18 years ago and whose cutting-edge advancements in their own disciplines are expected to continue - and to have landmark impact beyond their immediate fields of work. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation grants up to 25 Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Awards annually, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Award winners are invited to spend a period of 6 to 12 months cooperating on a long-term research project with fellow experts at a research institute in Germany.

November 2012

  • Mate Bezdek (Berlinguette group) Awarded $1000 from UCalgary Office of Sustainability for his summer research on solar cells!

  • Curtis Berlinguette recognized as Calgary's Top 40 Under 40 by Avenue Magazine.

August 2012

  • Congratulations to Dr. Derek Wasylenko (Berlinguette group) on getting his PhD! Best wishes at the University of Washington!
  • Mate Bezdek (Berlinguette group) Awarded Top Oral Presentation, Undergraduate Research Symposium, Department of Chemistry, University of Calgary


July 2012

  • Congratulations to Dr. Paolo Bomben (Berlinguette group) on getting his PhD!

May 2012

  • Paolo Bomben (Berlinguette group) awarded Top Oral Presentation, Materials Sciences Division, Canadian Society for Chemistry National Meeting!
  • Jennifer Emara (Berlinguette group) awarded a QEII Graduate (Master's) Scholarship!
  • Douglas Brown (Berlinguette group) awarded the Dr. Tristram Chivers Scholarship and QE II Queen Elizabeth Scholarship, as well as the Alberta Advanced Education and Technology Graduate Student Scholarship!
  • Mate Bezdek (Berlinguette group) awarded an NSERC undergraduate research scholarship and PURE award!

April 2012


  • Centre for Advanced Solar Materials receives $225k in research funding from the Canadian School of Energy and Environment. Four members of the Centre for Advanced Solar Materials, Thomas Baumgartner, Curtis Berlinguette,  Todd Sutherland, and Simon Trudel have scored a clean sweep at the latest call for Proof of Concept and Proof of Principle grant applications from the Canadian School of Energy and Environment, securing $225k in funding.  The funds will be used to carry out research in the development of commercially viable dyes and light-harvesting materials for solar cells, photoelectrochemical catalysts for clean energy storage, light-emitting materials for energy efficient White Light-Emitting Diodes (WOLEDs), and self-assembling ionic liquid crystals.

March 2012

  • Baumgartner and Berlinguette research featured in special issue "New Talent: Americas". Dalton Transactions, one of the leading journals for inorganic chemistry, recently published a special issue, "New Talent: Americas", showcasing "young, talented scientists who combine multiple subdisciplines of chemistry to solve difficult and challenging problems".


June 2011

  • Thomas Baumgartner is one of the four Canadian recipients of a JSPS invitation fellowship (nomination through NSERC) allowing him to present his research at several Japanese universities.
  • Paolo Bomben and Kiyoshi Robson (Berlinguette group) will be attending the 2011 ACS Summer School on Green Chemistry and Sustainable Energy in Montreal.        
  • Richard Burford and Susie Reigel (Piers group) were awarded first and second prizes, respectively, for their poster presentations at the 94th Canadian Society for Chemistry Conference in Montreal:

  - “A Novel PCP Iridium Complex for Bond Activation”  R. J. Burford, W. E. Piers, M. Parvez;

  - “Towards Organometallic Platforms for Water Activation:  Aryl PCP Rh Complexes”  S. D. Riegel, W. E. Piers, M. Parvez.


May 2011

  • Yuen-ying Carpenter (Baumgartner group) awarded a prestigious Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship that allows her to investigate novel organophosphorus-based electron-acceptor building blocks for improved organic photovoltaic materials.


April 2011

  • Derek Wasylenko (Berlinguette group) awarded a prestigious a 2011 J. B. Hyne Research Innovation Award for his work on water oxidation catalysis.   


March 2011

  • Warren Piers awarded a prestigious Killam Research Fellowship for his studies related to solar fuels.         


February 2011

  • Curtis P. Berlinguette awarded a 2011 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship for his contributions to solar energy conversion schemes.   




Copyright 2013. Centre for Advanced Solar Materials